Looking For Light

The next pivotal point in my journey came when I sought out an opinion from a world famous photographer, Vincent Versace, in his Flickr group, “Welcome to OZ”. I told him “I wanted to be a better student of light”, and his response to me was, “First spend as much time as you can just watching it. EVERY aspect of it, in the morning it’s length, the soft or hardness how long does it last, overcast days, low light lots a light, just watch it and slow down enough to truly be taken by it”.
Needless to say, his words have have changed the way I look through the viewfinder.  When I’m out taking shots, I’m not looking for subjects, I’m looking for light.

Leave a Reply

