Shoot For Yourself – A Lesson Learned

It is very easy to get caught up in what others think about you, your art, your gear, your style. So easy to get caught up in what is not important. For me, what is important, is being authentic in my dealings with people. I do what I say I’m going to do. I say what I think, and I’m not afraid to express my feelings.
In my life, I strive to be the best I can be.  I admit my faults and/or shortcomings, if not publicly, then to myself. I thrive on learning and improving. Equally so, I feel blessed when I have the opportunity to assist or offer advise to a friend.  A day without some form of exploration or discovery is a bad day, in my book.
When I started this blog, I had no idea just how therapeutic it was going to be for me, not that there was anything wrong, but I had so much to say, so much that had been squelched.  In one of my previous posts, I mentioned how I am sometimes intimidated by those who are much more fluent in the art of self expression. As a result of that, my tendency has been to hold back. I believe it has impacted me as an artist, certainly as a person.
To some, it can certainly be perceived as a lack of self confidence. To a large extent, I would have to agree with that. And, it has taken me down a different road, one of losing sight of my personal goals and a clear definition and/or understanding of who or what I am shooting for. When I was young, I wanted my parents to acknowledge my passion and talent for photography. As an adult, sadly, I am still trying to gain the approval of others. 
Well, God willing, that chapter is coming to a close.  What is important now is how I feel about my art, and not what my family, my friends, my colleagues, and the people I have met on social media sites, where I have spent so much time trying to gain approval and acceptance of others, think. 
In taking back my creative soul, my wish is to remain open and caring, sharing and giving. I love my family, Jenna and Rebekah, you are my rock. I cherish my friends, and I am grateful for all the wonderfully talented artists I have met online, some of which have become dear friends.  
It is for you that I write this blog.

One thought on “Shoot For Yourself – A Lesson Learned

  1. I suspect most of the people on other sites, such as Flickr, arn't half as confident as they claim to be. It takes a *real* person to admit their short comings and work on fixing them.

    As artists, and humans, we are always seeking the approval of others. It's in our nature.

    I think it's a hard line to walk between make your work for yourself, but still wanting approval of others.

Leave a Reply

