Learn to Grow

Ever been in a “slump”?  You know, a time where you just don’t know what you want to photograph.  A time when you just don’t feel motivated to go out and shoot.  Possibly a time when you don’t like anything you are producing.  Well, I have, many more times than I would like to admit.  However, I don’t feel that is a bad thing.  I choose to look at it in a positive light as a period for growth and exploration.  Usually, when I am in a “slump”, it’s because I’m bored or unchallenged.  Yes, I need to be challenged, both artisticly and intellectually.

For me, I take advantage of this time, and try to learn new techniques or approaches, both while behind the camera and computer. There are endless resources for learning, both on the web and thru traditional resources, like magazine articles, books, and even lectures or workshops, all of which I am fond of.  Sometimes, just reading about a new technique in Photoshop is enough to get the juices flowing again.  Sometimes, it’s learning about a function that I wasn’t aware my camera was capable of
performing. 
An example, in my case, would be this.  The last three weeks my camera has been at Nikon being repaired.  So, during this down time, I chose to learn some new techniques in Photoshop.  Inspired by Denise Ippolito’s (www.deniseippolito.com) work, I began playing with a filter I had bought some time ago, but never really took the time to learn and play with, Fractalius, by Redfield Plugins (www.redfieldplugins.com).  So far, I’ve produced about 27 images I’m pretty happy with.  It’s been fun, playing, and learning, and now I can say I’ve spent some quality time getting to know what this filter does and how I can use it in my workflow.  Something I couldn’t say before.
One does not have to let a slow time impead your journey.  Take advantage of it, and be with it.  Learn something new, and then have fun with it.  You’ll soon be back out there with renewed enthusiasm and creativity. 

4 thoughts on “Learn to Grow

  1. I sometimes think that these “slow' periods are a time of integration…and consolidating what you alreaady know with the new stuff. I think they happen to almost everyone no matter their field of art…After you ride them out almost, invariably you come to a period of new creativity which is soooo rewarding.

Leave a Reply

