No More Blinders…

In a “Quandary”, a state of perplexity or doubt.
I have been in a sort of quandary as of late.  For those who really know me, you’re probably shaking your head and saying, “what else is new”?  Ha, Ha, Ha. 
Seriously though, I need to get this off my chest.
What am I in a quandary about?  Here is my question.  Why would a professional (who is intelligent, resourceful, and knowledgeable) NOT do everything in their power to be competitive? 
I have had this conversation many times, with different people, and have come to the conclusion, that there are many different types of people.  The two I am referring to are these. Those who “do” (backup their words with experience) and those who “talk” (who freely give out advise but don’t speak from experience).
As an artist, a photographer, I study a lot of different approaches to photography and art as a whole.  But I don’t get into discussions and or debates over technicalities, of which there are many.  ie:  HDR (High Dynamic Range), digital vs. analog cameras, color vs. black and white films, the use of Photoshop, what is art and what is not.  Geez, the list goes on and on.  There are many people who have opinions on all these things, and they don’t have a problem sharing. Some even have the best of intentions. The internet provides such a expansive platform for such folks to have these discussions.  I choose not to expend my energy in that fashion.
But what I can’t get over is the number of people who don’t practice what they preach.
I have encountered both types of people, the ones who give freely to others but don’t bother taking their own advise. And the ones who give of themselves, based on their experiences and knowledge. Now you ask, why should this bother me? It really shouldn’t, but in a naive way, it does. I feel as though I am finally taking the blinders off, and seeing people for who they really are.  I owe a lot of my artistic growth to artists who back up their words with experience and knowledge.  Those are the ones I will take away the most knowledge and respect from. These are the people I will continue to surround myself with.  Interestingly, these people thrive on giving to others.  How cool is that.
The talkers, the one’s I listened to while wearing blinders, I will leave behind. They had their place, and their purpose.

I WILL keep learning.  I WILL continue to share my knowledge and experience with others.  NO MORE BLINDERS.

9 thoughts on “No More Blinders…

  1. I feel silly, but I'm not sure I know what you mean about being competitive or practicing what they preach, Cynthia?

    The thing I don't like photographically is people who refuse to share technique on the grounds that “someone mig steal” the technique from them or whatever.

    I remember when I first met you on flickr and your were so welcoming and always willing to share how you get the photos you do and you always took the time to comment on others' work (and continue to do so despite the busy-ness of your life.

  2. I agree with Cindy – you've always been very helpful Cynthia and it is so annoying when other photogs don't want to share their methods, like it's some big copyrighted trade secret or somthing. Very annoying!

  3. Gosh, I love questions 🙂 Cindy, please don't feel silly. I'm happy to expand on what I wrote.

    “practicing what they preach”. What I mean by that is that one's words are not consistent with one's actions. Imagine finding someone to mentor you in your photography business, and then finding out that this person doesn't have his own business and has never used any of the techniques he suggested to you? Imagine also that this person is very intelligent, resourceful and loves to teach. Lastly, imagine this person is average at best in the quality of his own work. Yes, I know people like this.

    I know what both you and Lea are referring to. It's very frustrating when people choose not to share their knowledge. I have always believed that it is a privilege to give back to others who want to learn. And as a result, am always available to help anyone who requests it or who wants to pick my brain.

    I don't ever claim to have all the answers but I am always open to share what I know.

    Thank you both for taking the time to leave comments. I really do appreciate it 🙂

  4. Wow–I can't believe you have met up with people who claim to “know it all” and don't! That is wild. . .

    Yes, I like to give back by sharing what I know, too–I think it's not only good karma, but it's a great give and take!

  5. Giving back is a good thing and not just in photography either.

    Some nice “angel” (as my Mom calls them) mowed her lawn for her. We don't know who, but one of her friends who knows she was out of town all week visiting my Dad in the hospital took it upon themselves to mow the lawn for her. Someone who wants to remain anonymous took it upon themselves to be nice and kind and help someone out.

    So sweet. Just when you start to give up on humanity along comes an “angel” as my Mom put it. It made me cry tonight – tears of joy. So I say, yeah to people who give of themselves to help others, not matter how small, it doesn't go unnoticed.

Leave a Reply

