2012

May the New Year’s blessings be kind to you and your families.

Looking back at 2011, it was a year of change, growth, fun, friends and discovery. Yes, it was a good year, and also a not so good year, for me.

I found myself taking a really hard look at what I wanted to accomplish, and how I was going to get there. That meant, making changes. Now, we all know that change can be difficult and sometimes not very much fun. I found myself not enjoying photography as much as I used to. I spent quite a bit of 2011 feeling that way. It wasn’t until the end of 2011 did I start to rebound and find the joy I once had for creative expression.

So how did I recover, you ask? I looked, honestly, at what wasn’t working in my life. Where did I lose the joy? Once I did that, I was able to piece it all back together, bit by bit. I am so grateful for my partner, Rebekah, as she has the patience of a saint, and the compassion I only wish I had. She truly is my source. Thank you, Rebekah.

I spent more time behind the computer than behind a camera in 2011. One of the goals I had set for myself was to pick apart my workflow and see where I could make improvements which would result in a higher quality of work. So I intentionally spend more time digging deeper into my photo editing software (Lightroom, Photoshop, NIK Color Efex, Topaz, Fractalius).

Towards the end of the year, sometime around November, I had reached a point where I was so frustrated with the quality of my work. When I compared the number of frames shot with the number of frames deleted, I decided it was time to look closer at my workflow when out in the field. It was here where I feel I made my biggest breakthrough. Too many times, when out shooting, I cursed myself for not bringing the right equipment or not being prepared for a certain situation. I’m talking about not bringing spare batteries, not bringing a monopod, not bringing the right lens, etc., etc. I have even been guilty of picking up my camera, starting to shoot without checking the settings on my camera. This can be a bad thing, especially when you shoot under different lighting situations, indoors vs. outdoors.

I remember posting in a recent blog entry about taking time to slow down. Well, this is a constant issue of mine, one that I feel impacts me immensely, both while out in the field and when behind the computer, as well. If there is one thing I truly feel I need to improve upon, it is this. Slowing down goes against my grain and I resist it. Yes, I am very impatient.

Lastly, but certainly not least, I learned to recognize the true gems I have in my life. I am so inspired and appreciative of the many people who have contributed to me and who have shared their time and thoughts with me. You are a blessing. Thank you.

So now I look forward with enthusiasm, excitement and anticipation. I see big things happening for me in 2012.

5 thoughts on “2012

  1. I need to do exactly the same thing Cyndi. Ultimately the time and effort put into being prepared when going out to shoots is so important. And probably even more so having the patience to take the time to get the perfect composition right in camera will bring great results. I know because that’s an issue I have been working on and struggle with routinely. Coming home with a bunch of crappy shots that are crooked, with twigs in front of your subject, in bad lighting, and not even getting my images sharp means it was just a waste of time to take the shot. I’ve always taken fewer shots in an outing than most of my friends, but now I pass on a lot of shots I would have taken previously knowing full well that the shot will be useless in post processing. Instead I’m forcing myself to take more time to wait for the perfect moment, prepared with the what I think will be the right camera settings, etc. I do get better shots this way, still have a long way to go. Good luck in the year ahead.

  2. So missed this one missie. I thought I had subscribed to your blog, but I guess not. I’m glad I decided to check it out on a whim tonight.

    I think slowing down is an issue with a lot of photographers – it’s that instant gratification, me-first and now lifesytle our society has adopted. Don’t beat yourself up too much, it’s been engrained in us for years. What’s important is that you recognize it and are taking steps to work on it.

    Self reflection is often painful, but necessary. I’m glad you are finding your way out of your funk as you’re my inspiration and I need you. 😉

    Can’t wait until this spring!!!

Leave a Reply

