Why I Love Digital Photography

 

I grew up with photography.  I still remember my first camera, a Kodak Brownie.  It used 126 film.  Just open

the back of the camera, pop in the cartridge, close the back and crank the film advance.  Good to go…..

Ahhhh, fond memories.

 My first digital camera was the Nikon D70.  Yay, no more waiting endless hours for my film to be developed.

No more frustration with prints not looking like I envisioned or sloppy handling by the labs which resulted

in dust and scratches on my film. 

 Digital photography was in its infancy and the whole digital concept was a very scary place for most film

photographers, including me. But I jumped in anyhow, and I have never looked back, much less shot a roll of

film.  Now, my film cameras are collecting dust.

 I love instant feedback. I learn very quickly with instant feedback.  One of the many things I love about

digital photography is the ability to see my result instantaneously.  I think I probably learned more about

photography, and my camera, as a result of instant feedback.  Instant feedback also gave me the courage to

experiment and try things I had not thought about trying in the past, because I could see the results and

make modifications as I experimented.

 I have spent many an evening sitting in my lounge chair with camera in one hand, camera manual in the other,

and just going thru all the settings and seeing how they worked.  That got kind of old though because I would

get yelled at for making too much noise (sounds of excitement when I discovered something cool) during the

middle of a movie or TV show, or when I would practice with my flash, using different settings and the

people in the same room with me would complain that I was blinding them. 

 Lastly, I love digital photography because I get to have complete artistic control.  I could never say that

with film.  I always felt my results were in someone else’s hands, especially since I only spent minimal time

working in a darkroom processing black and white film.

 ImageSometimes, I admit, I do miss the smell of film, but that is only a fleeing moment, and then it’s back to being

the photographer I always knew I’d be.

2 thoughts on “Why I Love Digital Photography

  1. My Mom gives me the same remarks about the flash 🙂

    I do have a question for you though, sort of food for thought. I was reading an article on slowing down (as I can never hear that too often). One of the things it suggested was to NOT look at the back of the camera or playback mode as you are shooting for the instant feedback. But instead to treat you next photographic outing or two as if you were using a film camera. The idea was to force you to slow down and really pay attention to what you are shooting before you hit the shutter button. Then only review your images when you got home to download your memory card.

    I must admit that sounded like a good idea, although I have yet to try it. On the flipside, I do know what you mean about the instant feedback as it helps me in the same ways you mention. It’s prevented me from totally botching things up by being able to see that I’ve forgotten to change a setting or two. Then again, if I was slowing down and paying more attention, I might not need the instant feedback as much.

  2. I appreciate your posting that question Lea, but since I can only speak for myself, let me say this.

    If I had the choice between getting the shot I wanted or totally missing the exposure or composition,

    I’m going to choose checking my histogram on the back of the camera after my shot, every day, every time,

    especially when shooting under difficult lighting conditions. Not doing so, for me, defeats the purpose

    of shooting digital.

    Maybe this method works for the author of the article you were reading, but I honestly believe in the

    merits of instant feedback, as that is how I learn best. I am sort of a perfectionist, and if I have the

    opportunity to do something better, then I will take it. I’m also a bit impatient, and would rather

    correct my mistakes as soon as I realize that I have made them.

    It’s really an individual thing, Lea. For me, instant feedback works.

Leave a Reply

