My Soapbox

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I have been studying photography seriously now for about 4 years. I’ve been re-editing a lot of my older digital images. I can honestly say that 2009 was a so so shooting year, 2010 was better, 2011 even better, and 2012, well, it’s not over yet. It amazes me how much I have learned in just 4 short years.

I believe digital photography is two fold. Obtaining the image in the camera is important, of course. But what you do with the image after you take it, is equally as important. Post processing is, I believe, the unspoken, or most ignored and under utilized reality of digital photography. The two go hand in hand. The one who can successfully manipulate a camera as well as the digital darkroom, has the upper hand.  It DOES make a difference, along with intelligent choices, like using a tripod, electronic flash, settings on your camera, or even, quality of light.

I applaud all digital photographers who produce works of art and who have the know how to be great. I applaud professionals who aren’t so stuck in the past that they can’t see what it takes to succeed in digital photography.

Leave a Reply

